Governing Council

This group is the top governing body of our local Center.  It is responsible for the overall vision and policy of the Seattle Shambhala Center, and engages in an ongoing assessment to ensure that our local Center remains true to the Shambhala vision.  The Governing Council typically meets on the first Wednesday of the month.

Membership on the Governing Council is based on Shambhala’s four-pillar leadership model: Government, Practice and Education, Kasung, and Economy.

Current Governing Council members are:

  • JoAnn Schindler, Center Co-Director
  • Annica Holder, Center Co-Director
  • John Gilvar, Center Rusung
  • Sydney Munger, Director – Practice & Education
  • Ladan Yalzadeh, Director – Culture and Decorum
  • Terry Jaworski, Director – Societal Health & Well-Being

You can contact the Governing Council at

The most recent minutes for the Council meetings can be found below.

May 1, 2019

April 11, 2019

March 13, 2019

February 13, 2019

January 9, 2019

Archived Council meeting minutes starting 12/15/16.